top of page

Making It Happen. Risk and Reward.

In one week, I’ve gone 1000% into marketing myself as an author.

I’ve always been a “go getter” and if I choose to do something, then I’m going to DO it.

I don’t do anything half ass, and for me, if I’m going to take the time to do something (because my time is in pretty short supply as it is), then I’m going to give it my all.

If I dedicate the time and energy, I expect silver linings at the end.

Is this reality?

Maybe not for some people, but it’s MY reality.

In about 10 days, I’ve created a Facebook page, followed by almost 300 people.

I’ve completed my first novel, and have sent out chapters to my Beta Readers.

I’ve networked and SOLD MYSELF, because as an Independent (Indie) Author, no one else is going to do it for me.

I’ve set up a Goodreads Author Page.

My Book Cover is being designed as I type.

My point is… if you want results, then take the time and put in the effort.

There is no reward without risk.

You can write 100 books, but if you don’t market yourself, network with other authors and Blogs/Facebook pages, tell your friends and family, hell tell the bagger at the checkout line at the grocery store that you’ve written books and you want them to read them… well, you’ve written books for yourself.

Friends who also write, authors that I’ve edited for, people with several books already OUT… are shocked at the response I’ve gotten in such a short time; but I’ve told them and I’ll tell whomever is reading this… To succeed, you have to try. You have to put yourself out there.

Be your biggest fan, but don’t be obnoxious.

Make people interested in YOU, in what you write… in what you do.

This can be the mantra for many things in life, not just writing.

Failure is not a favored word in my vocabulary.

Or rather not trying, not giving it your all is not something I’m familiar with.

If you want results, then take chances.

Tell everyone what you do and who you are.

Ask them to support you.

Ask them to pimp you out!

I did. I have. And I will continue to do so.

All they can do is say no, but without asking, you’ll never know.

And without putting yourself out there, you’ll never succeed!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page